E.R. and Ann Taylor Park
E.R. and Ann Taylor Park, 1850 Reed, 77051
E.R. and Ann Taylor Park was donated to the Houston Parks Board by descendants of E.R. and Ann Taylor as a memorial to the couple who settled the property in 1870. When Edward Ruthven Taylor came home from the Civil War ill with tuberculosis, Ann George, his father's former slave, cured him. The two fell in love, but marriage between a white man and a former slave woman was unacceptable at the time. The two moved far out of town and established a farm in Pierce Junction where they prospered and raised 6 children, who were among the first African-Americans in Texas to receive a college education. Oil was discovered on the property and by 1921 the first producing well was drilled. In 1986, the family donated the original homestead property for parkland.
Today, the park is a place of quiet beauty and reflection where visitors and family can enjoy nature and understand the rich history of the Taylor family. The park includes extensive nature trails with ground level and elevated blinds for bird watching or wildlife photography, a pond, an observation tower, a pavilion, picnic tables and benches. The park has been chosen as a project site for the Urban Conservation Treaty for Migratory Birds and hosts a myriad of migratory birds that pass through the area on their migration routes.
E.R. and Ann Taylor Park was made possible through a partnership with the E.R. and Ann Taylor Family, Houston Endowment Inc., Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Houston Parks and Recreation Department, Houston Parks Board and the Texas Historical Commission.